Reading Sundays

I’ve written about swimming, brunch, cooking, day trips and other activities you can participate in on Sundays. But I’ve left out the most satisfying one: reading!

So many people underestimate reading and its benefits. Reading isn’t just words, it’s worlds on a page, concepts, ideas, inspiration, escapism but can also make you aware of things and help you grow. I do think the UK has more of a reading culture than my homeland Greece, and it’s immensely satisfying to see people read on the tube. I am not a print-books-are-superior kind of person; I love all formats, including audio, although I myself read on the Kindle.

Reading can make long hours short, and take away negativity, stress, sadness. Regardless of what kind of book you’re reading, your focus shifts from the negative feelings to the sea of emotions enclosed in those beautiful, long, short words. If it’s a non-fiction book, it can inspire you, make you see things differently, offer you a new lens to peruse to see the world.

I’ve often spent my Sundays reading on my bed, without any distractions (including data on my phone, Netflix, or music). Because I work in publishing, I am often indirectly asked to read manuscripts – it helps pitch books to export customers, and if I like a book I can be more effective, & let my passion about it show through my pitching. Customers always appreciate a personal touch/recommendation as compared to the mere, cold facts anyone can have access to.

What I’m reading now:

 

61hinx3qobl-_sy344_bo1204203200_31195557

Both of them are book club reads.

And this brings me to my next recommendation: join a book club. I’m a member of two, and although I often cannot keep up with the reading because I’m away a lot, it is a great opportunity to meet people and discuss and have intelligent conversations outside small talk, agree, disagree, defend, rebuke. Most importantly, you can exchange perspectives, and in many ways, the social side of reading complements the pleasure of reading; a book can open up worlds, but other people’s readings of the same text can open up new perspectives as well.

Much has been written about the power of the story, so I won’t go into lengths about why I love stories so much, but let me just say that the most fascinating aspect of the concept of the story is that its constant telling and retelling can shape it in so many different ways. A story has multiple perspectives, multiple truths and lies. And it’s fascinating.

 

Leave a Reply

